We have recently updated our privacy policy to explain what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. You can disable cookies by changing the settings in your browser. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Shortlist for LEAF Awards 2012

Mixed – Use Building of the year:

LEAF winner Steven Holl Architects, with Daeyang Gallery & House, Seoul, South Korea

Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects, with Tidemill Academy & Deptford Lounge, Deptford, UK

Sponsored by Lasvit





Residential Building of the year (Single Occupancy):

Studiomk27, with Cobogo House Sao Paulo, Brazil

Sou Fujimoto Architects, with House like a single Tree, Tokyo, Japan Architectureburo

LEAF winner Govaert & Vanhoutte, with House Roces, Bruges, Belgium

Sanjay Puri Architects, with Courtyard House, Rajasthan, India

Peter Rose & Partners, with East House, Chilmark, Massachusetts, US

Sponsored by Laufen


Residential Building of the year (Multiple Occupancy):

LEAF winner Rafiq Azam, with SA Residence, Dhaka, Bangladesh

LEAF special Studio Daniel Libeskind, DCA Architects PTE Ltd, with Reflections at Keppel Bay, Singapore

Gonzalo Mardones Architecture Studio, with Ignacia Apartments, Santiago, Chile

Tabanlioglu Architects Melkan Gursel & Murat Tabanioglu, with Loft Gardens, Levent, Istanbul

Sponsored by Laufen


Commercial Building of the year:

Vittorio Grassi Architetto & Partners, with Koa Zambon Company Restaurant, Bresso, Italy

Mossessian & Partners, with 5 Merchant Square, London, UK

David Chipperfield Architects, with Peek & Cloppenburg Flagship Store Vienna, Austria

LEAF winner WOW Architects, with Vivanta Hotel, Bangalore, India

Tabanlioglu Architects Melkan Gursel & Murat Tabanioglu, with Asmacati Shopping &meeting point, Balcova, Turkey

Peter Rose & Partners, with Housing Tower at Kripalu Center for Yoga & Health, Stockbridge, US

Sponsored by RECKLI GmbH


International Interior Design Award:

Hironaka Ogawa & Associates, with Forest Chapel, Gunma, Japan

LEAF winner Billard Leece Partnership & Bates Smart with HKS, with The Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, Australia

Isay Weinfeld, with Rodeio Restaurant, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Kay Elliott, with Titanic Belfast, Belfast, UK

Sponsored by Design Build Network

Design Build Network

Refurbishment of the year:

LEAF winner Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects, with The Granary, London, UK

LEAF special Magma Architecture, with Masrah Al Qasba Theatre, Emirate of Sharjah, UAE

Pepe Gascon Arquitectura, with Sant Miquel Special Education School, Sant Feliu de Llobregat, Barcelona, Spain.

Hugh Broughton Architects, with Maidstone Museum East Wing, Kent, UK

Sponsored by Design Build Review

Design Build Review

Young Architect of the year award:

Zai Shirakawa, with Enbutsu-do Hall & Eifuku-ji Temple, Ehime Prefecture, Shikoku, Japan

Martin Gruenanger, with Green Knot, Graz, Austria

LEAF winner Marco Guarnieri, with 2 Whites Grounds, London, UK

Sponsored by Pascall+Watson Architects

 Pascall+Watson Architects

Public Building of the year:

Studio Daniel Libeskind, with Dresden Museum of Military History, Dresden, Germany

GPY Arquitectos, with SEGAI Research Centre, University of La Laguna, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain

LEAF winner Sou Fujimoto Architects, with Musashino Art University Museum & Library, Tokyo, Japan

Billard Leece Partnership & Bates Smart with HKS, with TheRoyal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, Australia.

LEAF special Stephen Marshall Architects, with Rothschild Foundation Archive, Waddesdon, UK

Isay Weinfeld, with Hotel Fasano Boa Vista, Porto Feliz, Brazil

Sponsored by Keim Mineral Paints Limited

 Keim Mineral Paints Limited

Best Sustainable Development:

Magma Architecture, with London Shooting Ranges, Woolwich, London, UK

Iotti + Pavarani Architetti, with Domus Technica (centre for advanced training), Brescello, Italy

Paolo Verducci Architetti, with New Headquarters for Archimede Solar Energy, Massa Martana, Italy

LEAF winner Arup Associates, with Druk White Lotus School, Shey, India

Sponsored by Interface


Best Future Building:

LEAF winner Skidmore Owings + Merrill, with Manhattan Loft Gardens, London, UK

3XN Architects, with Green School Stockholm, Stockholm, Sweden

Aedas Limited, with CX 2-1, Singapore

Aedas Limited, with Oasis Mall, Sanya, China

Aedas Limited, with Express Rail Link West Kowloon Terminus, Hong Kong, China

Mossessian & Partners, with Place Lalla Yeddouna, Fez, Morocco

LEAF winner MZ Architects, with The Rock Stadium, Al Ain, UAE

Sanjay Puri Architects, with Chapel at Murcia, Murcia, Spain

Victor Sala Bori, with Landscraper, Castelldefels, Spain

Sponsored by LEAF Review

 LEAF Review

Lifetime Acheivement Award:

LEAF winner Daniel Libeskind

Sponsored by Emirates Glass

 Emirates Glass

Overall Winner of the LEAF Awards 2012:

LEAF winner Sou Fujimoto Architects, with Musashino Art University Museum & Library, Tokyo, Japan

Sponsored by Emirates Glass

 Emirates Glass




Countdown to LEAF Awards