We have recently updated our privacy policy to explain what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. You can disable cookies by changing the settings in your browser. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


EH Award categories 2014

The Categories:

Each category is open to everyone in Europe inc Turkey. Any hotel outside of EMEA can only enter the International category.

Where applicable, some categories have dates. To enter, please see the pdf “Enter Here” form to the right.

Green Hotel of the Year – Sponsored by SaveMoneyCutCarbon. The Green Hotel Award recognises a hotel that maximises environmental operations within the hotel and efficient and innovative use of energy consumption. This category is open to all hotels making big steps in this area.


Opening of the Year (new build) – Sponsored by Kuehne + Nagel. This category recognises new projects that highlight innovative structural and interior design solutions in new build. This award will look at hotels opened for guests only from January 2012 – May 2014.


Opening of the year (renovation or conversion) – The award encompasses interior design, building use and creative use of space. This award will look at hotels opened for guests only from January 2012 – May 2014.


International Hotel of Year – This award is open to all countries outside Europe We are seeking the innovative design, interior and exterior that is setting trends for the hotel community across the world. 


Best Hotel Suite - Sponsored by Pacific Direct. We are looking at Interior design & use of space within the    Suite. This also includes the technology used within the Suite.


Best Use Of Technology – Sponsored by Quadriga. Recognises hotels that have implemented technology to make the hotel more appealing to the guest, elevated the brand or defined the modernisation of the front and back office of the hotel.


Hotelier of the Year – A personal award.  This award will honour a GM and MD who stands out among their peers making a difference to the hotel in reputation, service and new business.  This is a self-nominating category.


Hotel Spa of the Year – The hotel spa award recognises the best use of interior space and spa installation.  How the spa has had an impact of the reputation and brand of the hotel and how individual it is. This award can also recognise the supplier to which the hotel had contracted as well as the hotel.


Innovation in Service – The Hotel Service Award will reward the hotel that presents impeccable service and guest retention and satisfaction to a hotel.  Service is a major element to a hotels success and this EH Award will reward the hotel’s reputation and staff. We are looking for ways that the hotel has helped to improve life for their guests.


Best Hotel Restaurant - Nominations for this category must be for restaurants which are run in conjunction with the hotel.


Best Hotel Bar - Nominations for this category must be for hotel bars which are run in conjunction with the hotel.


New CEO of the year – A personal award.  This is open to any European hotel that has had a new CEO in the past few years who has made a big impact on the hotel and its staff. January 2012 onwards


Lifetime Achievement in the Hotel Community –Recognises a person for service to the Hotel Community and their body of work.  This award will be award by the judges of the EH Awards and cannot be entered by the hotel, it is awarded by the judges.


The European Hospitality Awards Hotel of the Year Winner – This is the final award that consist of the winners from each categories  taken part in the EH Awards 2013 (You cannot enter this category)


Closing date to Nominations 27th of June 2014

Related Files

Countdown to European Hospitality Awards

EHA 2013

EHA 2012

EHA 2011