NEW_LEAF2018-Awards-Banner-982x500.jpg ENTER NOW How to enter

Winners of the LEAF Awards 2012!

PRESS RELEASE - For immediate release – 24th September 2012

21s September 2012, Four Seasons Park Lane, London

Winning projects announced at the 2012 Emirates Glass LEAF Awards!

The 9th Annual Emirates Glass LEAF Awards proved to be a huge success attracting a whole host of recognisable faces from the architectural community. This spectacular evening took place in the luxurious surroundings of the Four Seasons Park Lane Hotel which was admired by the many guests that attended.

The 2012 shortlist included some of the world’s most iconic buildings and designs. The winners of the evening were:

Mixed – Use Building of the year award:
Steven Holl Architects with Daeyang Gallery & House, South Korea

Sponsored by Lasvit






Residential Building of the year award (single occupancy):
Architectureburo Govaert & Vanhoutte with Villa Roces, Bruges, Belgium

Sponsored by Laufen





Residential Building of the year award (multiple occupancy):
Rafiq Azam with S.A Residence, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Sponsored by Laufen





*Special Awards went to Studio Daniel Libeskind, DCA Architects PTE Ltd, with Reflections at Keppel Bay

Commercial Building of the year award:
WOW Architects with Vivanta Hotel, Bangalore, India

Sponsored by RECKLI GmbH





International Interior Design award:
Billard Leece Partnership & Bates Smart with HKS, with The Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, Australia

Sponsored by Design Build Network

Design Build Network



Refurbishment of the year award:
Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects, with The Granary 

Sponsored by Design Build Review

 Design Build Review



*A special prize went to Masrah Al Qasba Theatre, Emirate of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, by Magma Architecture

Young Architect of the year award:
Marco Guarnieri, with White Grounds UK

Sponsored by Pascall+Watson Architects

Pascall+Watson Architects



Public Building award:
Musashino Art University Museum & Library Tokyo, Japan, Sou Fujimoto Architects
Stephen Marshall Architects, with Rothschild Archive, UK

Sponsored by Keim Mineral Paints Limited

 Keim Mineral Paints Limited




Best Sustainable Development:
Arup Associates with The Druk White Lotus School, Shey, India

Sponsored by Interface

Sponsored by Interface

Best Future Building 2012 (joint winners):
Skidmore Owings + Merrill with Manhattan Loft Gardens, London, UK
MZ Architects, The Rock Stadium, Al Ain, UAE

Sponsored by LEAF Review

LEAF Review




Lifetime Achievement in architectural Community award:
Daniel Libeskind

Sponsored by Emirates Glass

Emirates Glass






Overall winner for 2012:
Musashino Art University Museum & Library Tokyo, Japan, Sou Fujimoto Architects

Sponsored by Emirates Glass

Emirates Glass






A special thanks to all of our sponsors who helped put this event together including Emirates Glass, Lasvit , Laufen, Interface, RECKLI GmbH, Keim Mineral Paints Limited, Design Build Network, Design Build Review, LEAF Review and Pascall+Watson architects. 

To view the complete shortlist of entrants please go to:



For further background information and photographs, please contact Luisa De Vita on 0207 936 6847.


Countdown to LEAF Awards 2018